pimp my computer!!! complete newbie!

Any questions about any type of hardware go here.

Moderator: 127.0.0.1

pimp my computer!!! complete newbie!

Postby greenlight » Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:52 pm

i got a computer that i use to make music on. only i think its had it day now. i got it in 2000! its got only 128mb syncdram and 20gb of hard drive. thats all i really know about the thing. i wanted to get a new case for it and new syncdram (hopefully about a gig) and get a new hard drive or install more or whatever it is you do. all im asking is that is if one of you lot on here had the comp what would you do with it? i took it to a shop and he tried to tell it would about £200 for the memory increased and ram upgraded. so i wanted to get the bits yself and install it myself. with the help of you lot on here obviously, i know nothing about what im doing really. is it difficult to do all this? could a complete newbie do it?


ive opened the thing up and installed my own cd writer but thats about it. lol.
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:27 pm

Depending on the processing power you need you might be better off getting a new machine all together. 20 gigs isn't that much space at all if you make music on the computer; I would definitely get a bigger hard drive.

You might want to learn a little bit more about memory. For DDR (double data rate) memory proper types are DDR266 (PC2100), DDR333 (PC2700), DDR400 (PC3200), etc. Synchronous DRAM (SDRAM) comes mainly in PC100 and PC133 speeds. Now there is also DDR2. If your going to get a new system you should be sure to get DDR2 memory.

If I had your machine I would probably turn it into a server of some kind. Maybe a firewall/router. Or I might use it for a file server. In either case I would definitely install Linux. However if you want to continue to use your machine as a Windows desktop machine the first thing I would do is upgrade the RAM and get a bigger/faster hard drive.

Is it difficult to upgrade a system? It shouldn't be if you get compatible parts. Usually there is only one way to connect components together.
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby greenlight » Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:24 pm

ok so say i went and bought say for example an 80gb hard drive. what would i have to consider when buying it. how will i know whether its compatible or not. im an absolute newbie when it comes to building and upgrading computers.
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:56 pm

Since you said you got the computer in 2000 I think it's safe for me to assume you have a PATA IDE drive. If this is the case you could get a drive like this one (notice the ATA-100 EIDE):
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... pNo=322750

If you don't have an IDE drive you most likely have a SCSI drive. Heres an image of an IDE port on a motherboard:
http://www.nordichardware.com/skrivelse ... TA.IDE.jpg
The cord to the far left in this picture is a SCSI cable:
http://www.gamepc.com/images/labs/rev-h ... -large.jpg

If you have an IDE port on your motherboard you can get an IDE drive such as the one that I linked above and it will work fine. Even if you don't have an on-board IDE controller you could still use an IDE drive... but thats another story.

In short here's what you must consider when buying a new drive..
1.) Is this drive the right interface for my computer (IDE, SCSI, SATA)
2.) Whats the largest size drive my motherboard can support?
3.) Does my PSU have enough power to support my new device?
4.) Does my PSU have enough free connectors (molex)?
5.) Do I have enough free space in my case for more components?

hmm thats about it. Just be sure not to buy a Maxtor hard drive they are very unreliable. Instead try to get a Seagate or a Western Digital.
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby greenlight » Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:09 pm

how do you post a pic on here?
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:57 pm

Just upload your picture to some picture hosting site such as tinypic. Then just type something like this in your post:

Code: Select all
[IMG]http://i17.tinypic.com/2hf5h8m.jpg[/IMG]


If you have a pre-built system like an HP or Dell if you tell us what the model number of the computer is we could tell you if you have an IDE or SCSI drive for you.
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Time to upgrade

Postby oldtimer » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:51 pm

It's time for a new PC and maybe Windows multimedia.
MacIntosh is known for quote :
to make music on.
Are you a song writer ? What is your objective ?
If so you really need some expert advice or night school class.
:wink:
And probably expensive software and a computer piano keyboard.
Thats what your post indicates. :roll:
User avatar
oldtimer
Level 3 Tech
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:54 pm
Location: Mississauga,Ont.

yo

Postby empty21 » Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:40 pm

if your a big noobie wen it comes to computers maybe u shud get a friend or someone you know to help you and show you. kinda easier than learning about computers from scratch on a forum. or you cud try an internet search about this sh*t
empty21
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:29 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby greenlight » Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:17 pm

nah i know the basics i spose. my computer is made by emachines and its a 140dvd.
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby greenlight » Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:22 pm

Code: Select all
[IMG]http://i19.tinypic.com/48pwg2u.jpg[/IMG]
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:11 am

In the above post you didn't have to include the code tags; I just put them there so you could see the IMG tags...

Anyways your computer can only accept up to 512MB of PC133 memory.
As for the hard drive you could get a hard drive like this:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... pNo=322750
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby greenlight » Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:38 pm

aint there no way i can make it 512 cant i change the pc133 memory?
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:55 am

Your motherboard will only accept up to 512mb of PC133 memory. To get more than that you will have to upgrade the motherboard.
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby greenlight » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:49 am

so i need ram, new hard drive and new motherboard and what else?
greenlight
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:44 pm

Re: pimp my computer!!! complete newbie!

Postby yuanyelss » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:45 am

Are you a song writer ? What is your objective ?If so you really need some expert advice or night school class. .....

cheap cartier trinity ring
cartier earrings price,cartier pen refill
yuanyelss
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:22 pm


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron