Can't Connect To The Internet!

Discussion of networking components such as routers, hubs, switches, gateways, etc.

Moderator: 127.0.0.1

Can't Connect To The Internet!

Postby Binx » Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:30 am

I have a laptop running windows ME. I recieve an IP address from my wireless router when I connect to it, but I still can't connect to the internet. When I connect my modem directly to my laptop I still get an Ip address but still can't connect to the internet. Why is this?
Binx
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:52 pm

How i'd do it

Postby oldtimer » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:57 am

I'd call My ISP Tech Support.The folks your paying for this service.
:D
User avatar
oldtimer
Level 3 Tech
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:54 pm
Location: Mississauga,Ont.

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:31 pm

Can you ping anything outside the gateway?
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby Binx » Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:09 pm

I have called my ISP provider, but the problem with them is that they hardly know what they are doing. They just follow a manual on their computer. They have me do the steps I have already thought about. So it's something a bit more severe then the help they have offered me. I also can't ping anything. Sometimes I get an ip address wirelessly or directly connected to the modem but still no internet and still can't ping
Binx
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:52 pm

Glad you got here

Postby oldtimer » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:10 pm

I guess you have another PC.
If this Is this the same server that got you here ?
They may be right as what your doing is a custom setup.
But your post title might not get replys from those that do.
Try changeing it to be more specific.
Sorry i can't help more since i don't do this.
User avatar
oldtimer
Level 3 Tech
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:54 pm
Location: Mississauga,Ont.

Postby 127.0.0.1 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:10 pm

I'll assume you have a cable modem. First unplug your cable modem and leave it unplugged for at least 5 or 10 minutes. The reason you do this is because the cable modem stores devices MAC addresses in memory that it is connected to. So long as a MAC address is in memory, that will be the only device that will be able to connect to the cable modem properly. Also shut down your PC.

Once 5 or 10 minutes have passed plug your cable modem back in. Now turn your PC back on. This worked for me in fact I had almost the exact same problem that I just solved today. Except my problem was that my cable modem would only connect with my wireless router. That was a problem because I built a GNU/Linux router/firewall/dhcp server/dns server/file server for my LAN that I wanted connected directly to the Internet.

Long story short I finally got my GNU/Linux box directly connected to the Internet today following these steps.
User avatar
127.0.0.1
Mod
Mod
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: East Lansing, MI

Postby RJ12 » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:32 pm

I Have A Windows ME Desktop And I Am Getting A New One With XP and ME Is Just Bad
RJ12
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:43 pm

Postby anand1 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:06 am

have u tried pinging any of the DNS or pages?????
anand1
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:33 am

?

Postby granpa73 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:49 pm

Why do you not call your ISP instead of asking here ?
After all you are paying them aren't you ?
:wink:
:?:
User avatar
granpa73
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:38 am
Location: Canada


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron