extendet tv

Misc computer stuff

Moderator: 127.0.0.1

extendet tv

Postby Psycrow » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:56 pm

Hi

I have this gfx card: ATI 4870 radeon 1 gb ram and i use catalyst 9.12 drivers.
My problem is: When i go to the catalyst extendet desktop menu and choose to extend desktop to my phillips 42" then it works fine, but after i reboot then the settings switch to normal primery screen only.
Then i must go to that desktop menu again and choose extendet tv. It wont remember my settings for extendet desktop.

I tryed to roll back to 9.11 drivers but no luck.
I also tryed to save a profile with my setup, and it still wont remember my settings after reboot.

any ideeas ?
Psycrow
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:34 pm

Re: extendet tv

Postby Psycrow » Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:20 am

Hi

I followed all the steps one by one and did a full driver clean and updated bios and chipset drivers. Then i installed the 9.12 ccc.
But i found out something important and perhaps usefull conclutions.

I run with 2 windows in boot option: Windows xp 32 and windows vista 32.

When the ati drivers were removed, then i tryed to use the windows display setup and enablet the secondary screen with extendet desktop mode, and it would not activate the secondary screen due to my main pc screen syncmaster 245a samsung runs 60 hz 1920 x 1200 and the secondary phillips 42 tv" runs on 60 hz 1600 x 1200 due to get full screen and clearest text. When i changed my main pc screen to 75 hz 1280 x 1024 then i was able to enable the secondary screen to any ressolution with 60 hz. But i cant run any higher ressolutions than 1280 x 1024 in 75 hz mode. So that is not a great or good option for me.

I then tryed to load win xp were i use a 9.10 ccc and then i choosed 60 hz 1920 x 1200 on the samsung main pc screen and 1600x1200 60 hz on the phillips 42" tv, and it worked well. I can reboot to win xp and it still saves my settings regarding the extendet desktop. No matter what hz and res i choose it just works like a charm.

When i log on to windows vista with the newest drivers installed from ati, then i can detect my phillips 42 " fine and i can choose to clone or extend it, but as soon i reboot then ccc wont save the 60 hz - 60 hz screen mode settings.

It all seems to have something to do with the type of windows and choosing 60 hz on both screens.

So why wont vista save my settings in ati ccc when i run 60 hz on both screens in vista ?

I use a 10 m expensive and HQ Lindy gold hdmi 1080 cable that is pluged directly to the tv from my ati 4870 card with a HDMI adapter delivered by the card.

ps. I checked the bios for any onbord features and northbridge settings looks fine. The volt is auto and the system is non clock default.
Psycrow
n00b
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:34 pm


Return to Misc Computer Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron